Skip to main content
Back to top
View over the Shropshire Hills

King’s Birthday Honours

King's Birthday Honours Shropshire 2023

King’s Birthday Honours

His Majesty’s Lord-Lieutenant of Shropshire, Mrs Anna Turner is delighted that 17 individuals from Shropshire have been recognised in the 2023 King’s Birthday Honours list. She said “it is a very proud moment for our county that so many Shropshire Citizens have been recognised for their contributions to business, the arts, sport, and to our community and I would like to congratulate them all for their efforts”.

The list of Shropshire recipients are as follows:-

Officers of the Order of the British Empire

Mr. Alan Meyrick OBE – Shrewsbury

Deputy Director, Teacher Regulation Agency. For services to Education.

Professor Norma Victoria Raynes OBE – Whitchurch

Director, From Generation 2 Generation (FGSG) and Chair, Caldecott Festival Group. For services to tackling loneliness in older people and the community in Shropshire.

Members of the Order of the British Empire

Mrs Sonia Roberts MBE – Shrewsbury

For services to the community in Shrewsbury. Getting vulnerable in society into training and employment.

Councillor Heather Kidd MBE – Chirbury

Councillor, Shropshire Council. For services to Rural Communities.

Mrs Kayleigh Griffiths MBE – Shropshire

Campaigner for maternity services Shrewsbury and Telford hospital NHS Trust. For services to Maternity Services.

Mr. Colin Griffiths MBE – Shropshire

Campaigner for maternity services Shrewsbury and Telford hospital NHS Trust. For services to Maternity Services.

Mr. Colin Preston MBE – Maesbury

Chief Executive, Shropshire Wildlife Trust. For services to wildlife conservation in Shropshire and The Marches.

Mrs. Sonya Jones MBE – Oswestry

For services to tackling child exploitation.

Mr. Christopher Evans MBE – Ludlow

For assistance with sustainable farming practices in rural Nepal.

Mr. Roy Martin MBE – Newport

Volunteer engineering co-ordinator RAF Museum and Chair, The Aerospace Museum Society. For services to heritage.

Mrs. Helen Rooker MBE– Ludlow

Lately voluntary Chief Executive Officer, Ludlow Assembly Rooms. For services to charity, the arts and the community in Ludlow.

Mrs. Jane Barker MBE – Baschurch

Founder, Perry Riding for the Disabled Group and the Cavalier Centre. For services to Charity and to people with disabilities.

Medallists of the Order of the British Empire

Mrs. Sally Johnson BEM – Shrewsbury

Founder, The Harry Johnson Trust. For services to cancer patients and charity.

Mr. Eric Smith BEM – Shrewsbury

For services to radio and the community in Shropshire.

Mrs. Marion Lynn Micklewright BEM  – Bayston Hill

Founder and Manager, Shropshire Cat Rescue. For services to feline welfare.

Mr. Jonathan Paul Sanderson BEM – Telford

For services to athletics and the community in Telford & Wrekin.

Mr. Gwynne Goodfield BEM – Telford

Tax Specialist Programme Recruitment Lead, HMRC. For services to graduate recruitment and to sport.

The Honours system singles out individuals who have gone above and beyond in their field of interest, or through volunteering. Allocated on merit, the Honours system sees recipients identified by government departments, private and public bodies, and members of the public to ensure that all aspects of community life in Britain are rewarded.